Free Shipping to Canada
on all orders over $150.00.
Connect on Social:

Lesbian Love Story

In Stock Unavailable

Regular price $35.00 |  Save $-35.00 (Liquid error (sections/product-template line 206): divided by 0% off)
/

By Amelia Possanza For readers of Saidiya Hartman and Jeanette Winterson, Lesbian Love Story is an intimate journey into the archives—uncovering the romances and role models written out of history and what their stories can teach us all about how to love...
Hurry, Only 1 left!
1

You are away from qualifying for free shipping within Canada.

Your cart qualifies for free shipping in Canada! Discount is automatically applied at checkout. Thank you!

Product Details

By Amelia Possanza

For readers of Saidiya Hartman and Jeanette Winterson, Lesbian Love Story is an intimate journey into the archives—uncovering the romances and role models written out of history and what their stories can teach us all about how to love


When Amelia Possanza moved to Brooklyn to build a life of her own, she found herself surrounded by queer stories: she read them on landmark placards, overheard them on the pool deck when she joined the world’s largest LGBTQ swim team, and even watched them on TV in her cockroach-infested apartment. But these stories rarely featured lesbians who could become her role models, in romance as in life.

This is the story of Possanza’s journey into the archives to recover the stories of lesbians in the 20th Century: who they were, how they loved, why their stories were destroyed, and where their memories echo and live on. Centered around seven love stories for the ages, Possanza’s hunt takes readers from a Drag King show in Bushwick to the home of activists in Harlem and then across the ocean to Hadrian’s Library, where she searches for traces of Sappho in the ruins. Along the way, she discovers her own love—for swimming, for community, for New York City—and adds her own record to the archive.

At the heart of this riveting, inventive history, Possanza asks: How could lesbian love help us reimagine care and community? What would our world look like if we replaced its foundation of misogyny with something new, with something distinctly lesbian?

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published by by Catapult (May 2023)
ISBN-13: 9781646221059

Shipping & Returns

Returns Policy

Please see our Returns & Exchanges Policy for complete details.

Shipping

We ship all orders in non-descript boxes for your privacy.

Recently Viewed Products

Lesbian Love Story

What are you looking for?

Your cart