"Judging the many amazing applications for the LOUD Scholarship Fund fills me with hope for the future and appreciation of the dedication, and brilliance, of the LGBTQ2+ community."     - Jim Deva (1950-2014)

Little Sister's Book & Art Emporium's co-founder Jim Deva volunteered his time to the LOUD Foundation from its inception until his passing in 2014.







 The LOUD Foundation was founded upon the principles of:

  • Leadership
  • Opportunity
  • Unity
  • Diversity

and invests in future leaders of the Canadian LGBTQ community.

During his time with LOUD, Jim, with his partner Bruce Smyth, endowed the annual Little Sister's Bookstore Scholarship and, following Jim's passing, in accordance with Bruce and Jim's family's wishes, the Jim Deva Memorial Scholarship was also endowed.

A former school teacher, Jim believed that by supporting the development of students who possess drive, vision, compassion and knowledge, we can improve society and increase awareness of our diverse community.

More than 1,000 people attended a memorial service at St. Andrew’s-Wesley United Church six days after Jim's death, including a police honour guard and senior officers, where the mayor described Mr. Deva as a “city builder,” and a city councillor likened him to Harvey Milk, the gay San Francisco politician who was assassinated in 1978.

We are honoured and humbled to help carry on Jim's legacy of steadfast leadership and boundless generosity.

We miss you, Jim! Thank you. 

To contribute to Jim's or the Little Sister's Bookstore Scholarships:

***100% of donations made go to the scholarships.***

In 2017, one Little Sister's Bookstore Scholarship of $1,000 and two Jim Deva Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 will be awarded. 

**Applications for 2018 just opened! 


Past Jim Deva Memorial Scholarship Winners:

  • 2018: TBA
  • 2017: Kyle Militello, Navin Kariyawasam & Clarice Scop
  • 2016: Alison MacLeod & Kara J. P. Taylor
  • 2015: Christopher Severight & Caroline Doerksen

Past Little Sister's Bookstore Scholarship Winners:

  • 2018: TBA
  • 2017: Hanna Jacobsen
  • 2016: Jaedyn Starr
  • 2015: Dora Ng
  • 2014: Alysia Law
  • 2013: -No Scholarship Awarded-
  • 2012: Kristy Mosher
  • 2011: Trevor Ritchie
  • 2010: Julie Browne